Domainating: Brands, Art & Content

artist/illustrator/designer/webmaster/copywriter/videographer/optimizer/promoter/ad-man

Dark Glasses & Dark Shades

Like most Domainers, I prize the dot com over any other international TLD.  But I do like other TLDs, as well.  I really like the .US country code, the .net (perhaps because I am in the business of reselling domain names & hosting), and I absolutely love the .info for blogs and information sites.

But DarkGlasses.net and DarkShades.net have been left unregistered well too long, now.  So I had to, of course, finally give in, go to Domain Hostmaster and register them.

Why do I do it?

Considering the risk I take for a new registration, the investment and risk is actually quite small for two dark versions of the cool name for sunglasses in a dot net.  Perhaps it is a bit riskier for me since I don’t actually plan on selling sunglasses, but I think that these are still greatly undervalued names that have until now been overlooked.  I honestly think that these names should command a $500.00 pricetag each on the very day that I registered them (for the next 5 years), even in this economy.  Or perhaps I should say, especially in this economy, as you need memorable names that can be built into brands these days.  In 5 years, they will be worth 5 to 10 times as much, at the very least, even if I do nothing.

Still, I am not supposed to be registering new names.  I’ve actually been letting a few domain registrations expire, but certain gambles did not pay off.  WiBro is still known as WiMax here in America, though I still have kept a couple of choice versions (i.e.: FindWiBro.com, ComputerWiBro.com, WiBroComputing.com, BusinessWiBro.com & PhoneWiBro.com).

I’ve also let a few of my longer High Definition keyword phrase domains expire.  I was very surprized that people haven’t been knocking my door down for these just as everyone is ugrading to High Def systems.  But I did keep the best ones.

I even let Fable.Biz expire and I actually planned on writing a fairy tale or two on that one.  But I just didn’t have the time to make that happen.

But I think these 2 dark dot net domains will do much better.  😉

-Doug
The Domainator

June 7, 2009 - Posted by | Brands, Domain Names | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

